New World Viola Festival to live stream all events

Author: New World Symphony

OCT 2019: Michael Tilson Thomas, New World Symphony and the world’s greatest viola soloists join forces at the New World Center... and you can watch for free!

  • Viola Visions | Copyright: © New World Symphony

    Viola Visions © New World Symphony

  • Michael Tilson Thomas | Copyright: © Spencer Lowell

    Michael Tilson Thomas © Spencer Lowell

The New World Symphony, America’s Orchestral Academy (NWS) and Michael Tilson Thomas (MTT) present “Viola Visions” – a five-day celebration of the viola featuring the instrument’s most prodigious artists in concerts, master classes and seminars. Renowned performers and educators Roberto Díaz, Kim Kashkashian, Matthew Lipman, Cynthia Phelps, Nadia Sirota, Jonathan Vinocour and Tabea Zimmermann will join NWS Fellows and alumni in performances of viola-centric works led by MTT.

Viola enthusiasts around the world will have the opportunity to experience all “Viola Visions” activities thanks to NWS’s media partners for the festival: The Violin Channel and Online viewers can also submit questions for Kim Kashkashian’s Tuesday seminar and the Friday night master class led by MTT.

Join the global conversation on social media by using #NWSViolaVisions and visit to see a full calendar of festival events and all the ways you can watch and participate.

New World Symphony prepares graduates of music programmes for leadership roles in professional orchestras and ensembles. In the 32 years since its founding by Artistic Director Michael Tilson Thomas and Lin and Ted Arison, NWS has helped launch the careers of more than 1,100 alumni worldwide. A laboratory for the way music is taught, presented and experienced, the New World Symphony consists of 87 young musicians who are granted fellowships lasting up to three years.

Orchestra / Band New World Symphony, America’s Orchestral Academy
Conductor Michael Tilson Thomas
Video format Live Stream



New on takt1: Gabetta & Staatskapelle Dresden


The “queen of the cello”, Sol Gabetta” at Konzerthaus Dortmund. Staatskapelle Dresden is conducted by Daniele Gatti.

Live on takt1: Mariss Jansons & Rudolf Buchbinder


Mariss Jansons conducts the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and Rudolf Buchbinder with works by Weber, Beethoven and Shostakovich.

DVD + Blu-Ray: Paavo Järvi – The Brahms Symphonies

C Major Entertainment

The Brahms interpretations of Paavo Järvi and his Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen have been receiving the highest public and critical acclaim.

DVD: Fall of the Berlin Wall

EuroArts Music International

A musical journey with Leonard Bernstein and Kurt Masur celebrating the fall of the Berlin Wall.


Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.