Live on takt1: Gewandhausorchester + Nelsons

Author: takt1

A grand start to the season at the Leipzig Gewandhaus: Andris Nelsons conducts the Gewandhaus Orchestra with a carefully chosen programme.

  • Andris Nelsons | Copyright: © Marco Borggreve

    Andris Nelsons © Marco Borggreve

  • Pianist Martin Helmchen | Copyright: © Giorgia Bertazzi

    Pianist Martin Helmchen © Giorgia Bertazzi

A grand opening to the new season at the Leipzig Gewandhaus: Andris Nelsons, the Gewandhaus kapellmeister since 2018, conducts a delicately balanced programme. With his seventeenth piano concerto, Mozart consolidated his new approach to the form: solo-like passages from the wind section, and in the third movement, harmonic structures that anticipate romanticism; and a finale that takes on almost operatic dimensions. Mozart begins to assert his individuality.

It is followed by Debussy's wonderfully oceanic "La Mer", a series of symphonic sketches with relentlessly compelling themes. It is a painterly work, though that's not to say that it's programme music. Rather, Debussy set out to capture the ocean in music in a work abounding with energy and powerful rhythms. The concert closes with Stravinsky's trailblazing music for the ballet "The Firebird": pure magic.

Tune in for the live stream on 01 September at 11:00 on takt1!

Composer Claude Debussy
Original title of music work La Mer
Composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
English title of music work Piano Concerto No. 17
Original title of music work Klavierkonzert Nr. 17
Composer Igor Stravinsky
English title of dance work The Firebird-Suite
Original title of music work Der Feuervogel (Suite)
Orchestra / Band Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
Conductor Andris Nelsons
Soloist Martin Helmchen



20 Years Of Young Euro Classic

EuroArts Music International

20 years of Young Euro Classic and third time in a row for the EuroArts production team: Watch the highlights of this year’s Young Euro Classic!

DVD + Blu-Ray: Mozart: Don Giovanni from Arena di Verona

C Major Entertainment

Mozart’s Don Giovanni, in the beautiful staging by legendary Franco Zeffirelli is a spectacle with a strong aesthetising component, a feast for the eyes.

Richard Strauss | Ariadne auf Naxos


Christian Thielemann's sensational return to the Wiener Staatsoper to conduct his first-ever performance of Strauss' Ariadne auf Naxos.

3 LIVE Events from the Salzburg Festival


fidelio will stream 2 operas and 1 concert from this year’s Salzburg Festival.


Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.