Live on Fidelio: Beethoven's Fortepiano

Author: myfidelio

Pianist Gottlieb Wallisch LIVE from the Congress Casino, performing on Beethoven’s restored piano.

  • Gottlieb Wallisch | Copyright: © Andrej Grilc

    Gottlieb Wallisch © Andrej Grilc

After its successful restoration, Beethoven's piano will be revived and played again for the first time on November 24th at the Casino Baden by pianist Gottlieb Wallisch. Listen to the impeccable sound of the hammerclavier - first solo and then accompanied by a quintet of the Vienna Academy Orchestra with historical string instruments in its original sound.

As a special celebration for Ludwig van Beethoven's 250th birthday the city of Baden wanted to revive Beethoven's historic fortepiano. After a successful fundraising campaign and thanks to support from the Federal Office for Monuments and the Province of Lower Austria, it was possible to make this necessary restoration possible.

- Ludwig van Beethoven: Phantasy in B major, Op. 77
- Franz Schubert: From the "Six Moments musicaux", D. 780
- Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata in C minor, Op.13 "Pathétique"
- Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major, Op. 15 (edition for piano and stringquintet by Vinzenz Lachner)

Streaming date: 24 November 2019 at 17:00

Original title Beethovens Hammerklavier mit Gottlieb Wallisch
English title Beethovens fortepiano with Gottlieb Wallisch
Production year 2019
Musical style Wiener Klassik



DVD + Blu-Ray: Wagner: Tristan und Isolde

C Major Entertainment

This production of Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde, directed by Pierre Audi, has received high acclaim in Paris and Rome.

DVD + Blu-Ray: Tchaikovsky: Eugene Onegin (Re-issue)

Bel Air Media

One of Dmitri Tcherniakov's most famous productions, with Mariusz Kwiecien in the title role, now and for the first time also available on Blu-ray.

DVD + Blu-Ray: Ambroise Thomas: Hamlet / Opéra Comique

NAXOS Audiovisual Division

A multi-layered production of Thomas’ Hamlet staged by Cyril Teste at Opéra Comique in 2018, featuring performances by Stéphane Degout and Sabine Devieilhe.

Blu-Ray: Galaxymphony - Danish National Symphony Orchestra

EuroArts Music International

May the force of music be with you...with these unforgettable scores from the best sci-fi-movies!


Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.