Conductors Series: Zubin Mehta – Retrospective

We continue our new conductors retrospective series with Zubin Mehta who is known for his expressiveness on the podium.

  • Conductors Series: Zubin Mehta – Retrospective – Back Cover | Copyright: © EuroArts Music International

    Conductors Series: Zubin Mehta – Retrospective – Back Cover © EuroArts Music International

  • Zubin Mehta | Copyright: © Shai Skiff

    Zubin Mehta © Shai Skiff

  • Zubin Mehta | Copyright: © EuroArts

    Zubin Mehta © EuroArts

“I cannot begin even to describe what I have learnt with these musicians. Maybe they have learnt a little something from me, but that is nothing compared to what I have learnt from them, and the generations that came before.” (Zubin Mehta about the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra)

DVD 1: Zubin Mehta conducts Bartók, Dvořák and Mozart in Los Angeles

DVD 2: St. Petersburg Night - Waldbühne 1997

DVD 3: Gran Gala di Verdi

DVD 4: 75th Anniversary Concert of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra

DVD 5: Verdi: Falstaff from the Salzburger Festspiele

DVD 6: The Ninth Symphony - On Schiller's Ode to Joy - Choreography by Maurice Béjart

DVD 7: Farewell Concert

Original title Conductors Series: Zubin Mehta – Retrospective
Genre Classical Music, Ballet/Dance
Production year 1977, 1997, 2001, 2011, 2013, 2014
Duration 826 mins (DVD 1: 110 mins; DVD 2: 96 mins; DVD 3: 182 mins; DVD 4: 95 mins; DVD 5: 125 mins; DVD 6: 88 mins; DVD 7: 130 mins)
Video format NTSC 16:9 & 4:3
Audio format PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, dts 5.1
Distribution DVD EuroArts Music International GmbH
Musical style Classical Music
Composer Mozart, Bartok, Dvořák, Glinka, Tchaikovsky, Mussorgsky, Rimsky-Korsakov, Prokofiev, Verdi, Lincke, Saint-Saëns, Bach
English title of music work Mozart: Concerto for Bassoon and Orchestra in B flat major, K.191; Bartok: Concerto for Orchestra, Sz116; Dvořák: Concert Overture “Carnival”, Op.92, Symphony No.8 in G major, Op.88, Slavonic Dance in G minor, Op.46, No.8, Slavonic Dances, Op 72, No 2 in E minor for piano for four hands; Glinka: Overture from “Ruslan and Ludmila”; Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor, Op. 23, Waltz from “The Swan Lake”; Chopin: Waltz in D flat major, Op. 64, No. 1, Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor, Op. 11; Mussorgsky: Prelude from “Khovanshchina”, Gopak from “The Fair at Sorochintsi“; Rimsky-Korsakov: Flight of the Bumblebee, Capriccio espagnol, Op. 34; Prokofiev: Death of Tybalt from “Romeo and Juliet”; Lincke: Berliner Luft; Verdi: excerpts from Nabucco, Jérusalem, Il corsaro, Rigoletto, Il trovatore, La traviata, Un ballo in maschera, La forza del destino, Don Carlo, Aida, Otello, Falstaff, Nabucco; Falstaff; Saint-Saëns: Introduction et Rondo Capriccioso in A minor, Op. 28; J. S. Bach: Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004: Sarabande; Chausson: Poème, Op. 25; Beethoven: Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93, Symphony No. 9 in D minor, On Schiller’s Ode to Joy; Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 2 in A Major, S. 125; Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C minor “Resurrection”
Orchestra / Band Los Angeles Philharmonic; Berliner Philharmoniker; Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino; Israel Philharmonic Orchestra; Wiener Philharmoniker
Choir Rundfunkchor Berlin, Coro del Festival Verdi, Philharmonia Chor Wien
Dance Company The Tokyo Ballet
Conductor Zubin Mehta
Soloist David Breidenthal (bassoon), Daniel Barenboim (piano), Evgeny Kissin (piano), Julian Rachlin (violin), Vadim Repin (violin), Yefim Bronfman (piano), Chen Reiss (soprano), Okka von der Damerau (mezzo-soprano)



Maria João Pires’ recital premiere on


Maria João Pires plays Schubert and Debussy in Paris, premiering on! Tune in on 8 June at 20:00 (CET).

DVD + Blu-Ray: Rimsky-Korsakov: The Snow Maiden

Bel Air Media

Dmitri Tcherniakov's spectacular take on a Russian masterpiece, filmed at the Paris Opera with Aida Garifullina in the title-role.

DVD + Blu-Ray: Verdi: Simon Boccanegra

Accentus Music

The highly acclaimed new production from the Opernhaus Zürich is released on Accentus Music as Blu-ray & DVD as well as video on demand in June 2021.

DVD + Blu-Ray: Romeo and Juliet from the Royal Ballet

Opus Arte

A passionate and enthralling Romeo and Juliet from the Royal Ballet now available on DVD + Blu-Ray


Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.