Conductors: Claudio Abbado - Retrospective

We continue our conductors retrospective series with Claudio Abbado, one of the leading conductors of his generation.

  • Conductors: Claudio Abbado - Retrospective | Copyright: © EuroArts Music International

    Conductors: Claudio Abbado - Retrospective © EuroArts Music International

  • Claudio Abbado | Copyright: © EuroArts Music International

    Claudio Abbado © EuroArts Music International

What made Claudio Abbado stand out was his unpretentious, noble character, his democratic understanding of music making and his ability to celebrate the live moment on stage. Claudio Abbado empathised with his musicians. In order to be able to maintain contact with each individual during the conducting, he usually conducted from memory. "I am Claudio - for everyone" quickly became Abbado's oft-quoted statement.

DVD 1: Hearing the Silence - Sketches for a Portrait by Paul Smaczny
DVD 2: Claudio Abbado conducts Verdi
DVD 3: Claudio Abbado conducts Verdi: Messa da Requiem
DVD 4: Claudio Abbado conducts Beethoven Symphonies 3 & 9
DVD 5: Claudio Abbado conducts Mahler Symphony No. 9
DVD 6: Claudio Abbado conducts Mahler and Beethoven at Lucerne
DVD 7: Claudio Abbado conducts Brandenburg Concertos

English title Conductors: Claudio Abbado - Retrospective
Genre Classical Music, Documentary
Production year 1989-2016
Duration 662 mins (DVD 1: 67 mins; DVD 2: 94 mins; DVD 3: 88 mins; DVD 4: 122 mins; DVD 5: 84 mins; DVD 6: 107 mins; DVD 7: 100 mins)
Video format NTSC 16:9
Audio format PCM Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1, dts 5.1
Distribution DVD EuroArts Music International GmbH
Composer Mahler, Verdi, J. Strauss, Beethoven, Mahler, J. S. Bach
English title of music work Mahler: Adagio for Symphony No. 10; Verdi: excerpts from „Un ballo in maschera“, „Don Carlos“, „Rigoletto“, „La Traviata“, „Falstaff“; Messa da Requiem; J. Strauss: Maskenfest-Quadrille; Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 “Choral”; Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 55 “Eroica”; Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 4 in G major, Op. 58; Mahler: Symphony No. 9 in D major; Symphony No. 5 in C sharp minor; J. S. Bach: Brandenburg Concertos
Soloist Maurizio Pollini, piano; Prague Radio Choir; Andrea Rost, soprano; Alan Titus, baritone; Ramón Vargas, tenor; Larissa Diadkova, mezzo-soprano; Stella Doufexis, mezzo-soprano; Enrico Facini, tenor; Elizabeth Futral, soprano; Lucio Gallo, baritone; Massimo Giordano, tenor; Anatoly Kocherga, bass; Anthony Mee, tenor; Carmela Remigio, soprano; Swedish Radio Choir; Eric Ericson Chamberchoir; Orfeón Donostiarra; Karita Mattila, soprano; Violeta Urmana, mezzo-soprano; Thomas Moser, tenor; Eike Wilm Schulte, baritone
Conductor Claudio Abbado
Orchestra / Band Berliner Philharmoniker, Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester, Lucerne Festival Orchestra, Orchestra Mozart



DVD + Blu-Ray: A comic and offbeat Bluebeard from Opera de Lyon

Opus Arte

A hilarious take on the gruesome folk tale of Bluebeard, in a comic and offbeat production by renowned director Laurent Pelly.

ARTE live at the Aix-en-Provence festival 2021


ARTE is pleased to present three opera productions live from Aix-en-Provence this year, including a world premiere.


NAXOS Audiovisual Division

Mozart’s early dramma giocoso La finta giardiniera staged by Frederic Wake-Walker and performed on period instruments under the baton of Diego Fasolis.

DVD + Blu-Ray: Ein Sommernachtstraum - A Ballet by John Neumeier

C Major Entertainment

When developing the idea of filming, I insisted on planning a true ballet film which, for me, is completely different than a documentary - John Neumeier.


Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.