Conductors – Bernard Haitink - Retrospective

We continue our conductors’ retrospective series with Bernard Haitink who bowed before his audience for the final time on 6 September 2019.

  • DVD: <br />Conductors – Bernard Haitink - Retrospective | Copyright: © EuroArts Music International

    © EuroArts Music International

  • Bernard Haitink | Copyright: © EuroArts Music International

    Bernard Haitink © EuroArts Music International

  • Conductors’ Retrospective Series - Editions 1 & 2  | Copyright: © EuroArts Music International

    Conductors’ Retrospective Series - Editions 1 & 2 © EuroArts Music International

“It is a very special art of conducting. One must try to embrace the musicians.”(Bernard Haitink)

On 6 September 2019, Bernard Haitink bowed before his audience for the last time: after 65 years on the podium, the 90-year-old exceptional conductor ended his career. This DVD edition is dedicated to the exceptional conductor Bernard Haitink and includes some of his most outstanding concerts with the Berliner Philharmoniker.

DVD 1: Bernard Haitink: It comes my way – Portrait of a conductor
DVD 2: Mahler Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2
DVD 3: Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 3
DVD 4: Mahler Symphonies Nos. 4 & 7
DVD 5: Europakonzert 1993 from the Royal Albert Hall in London
DVD 6: Europakonzert 1999 from Krakow
DVD 7: Easter Concert in Baden-Baden 2015

Original title Conductors – Bernard Haitink - Retrospective
Genre Classical Music, Documentary
Production year 1991-2019
Duration 730 mins
Video format 4:3 NTSC (DVDs 2, 3, 4, 5), 16:9 NTSC (DVDs 1, 6, 7)
Audio format PCM Stereo, DD 5.1, DTS 5.1 (DVD 1: PCM Stereo)
Production Company Joost Honselaar (DVD 1), EuroArts in association with Philips Classics Productions and Sender Freies Berlin (DVD 2 & 4), EuroArts and Sender Freies Berlin in cooperation with Philips Classics Productions (DVD 3), EuroArts Music (DVD 5), EuroArts, VIDEAL/brilliant media, SFB, Televiyja Polska (DVD 6), SWR & EuroArts (DVD 7)
Distribution DVD EuroArts Music International GmbH
Musical style Orchestral
Composer Mahler, Tchaikovsky, Mozart, Stravinsky, Chopin, Schumann, van Beethoven
English title of music work Mahler: Symphony No. 1; Symphony No. 2; Symphony No. 3; Symphony No. 4; Symphony No. 7; Tchaikovsky: Fantasy Overture from "Roméo et Juliette"; Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major K. 216; Exsultate, jubilate KV 165 & Et incarnatus est from "Great Mass”; Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring; Chopin: Concert for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 in F minor, op. 21; Schumann: Symphony No. 1 in B flat major, op 38; van Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61 ∙ Symphony No. 6 in F major, op. 68 “Pastoral”
Conductor Bernard Haitink
Orchestra / Band Berliner Philharmoniker
Soloist Christine Schäfer (soprano); Sylvia McNair (soprano); Jard van Nes (alto solo); Florence Quivar (alto); Frank Peter Zimmermann (violin); Isabelle Faust (violin); Emanuel Ax (piano)
Choir Ernst Senff Chor; Tölzer Knabenchor



From Staatsoper Unter den Linden: Lohengrin


Richard Wagner's “Lohengrin” live from Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin on Sunday, 13 December on

DVD: The Alexander Kalioujny Class

Bel Air Media

A dance lesson at the Ballet School of the Paris Opera in the style of Alexander Kalioujny, taught by Danseurs Étoiles Elisabeth Platel and Charles Jude.

Ludwig trap Beethoven

RSI – Radiotelevisione Svizzera

Ludwig vs. Karl; uncle vs. nephew; old generation vs. teenager; classical music vs. trap music. 10 snapshots of life + art from a timeless family.

DVD + Blu-Ray: Handel: Semele – Monteverdi Choir / John Gardiner

EuroArts Music International

Händel’s sexiest opera!


Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.