Three Generations of Kurtág: Music and Pictures

Author: Poorhouse International

We meet György Kurtág, his wife, son and grand daughter and witness the production of his first opera "End Game" based on the play by Beckett at La Scala.

  • Kurtág Rehearsal | Copyright: © Senso Films

    Kurtág Rehearsal © Senso Films

Since 2010, György Kurtág, one of the important living composers has been working on his first opera “End Game” based on the Samuel Beckett play. We are invited by filmmaker Maryline Charrier to meet György and Márta Kurtág, Kurtág´s wife and pianist, his loyal companion for 70 years, Kurtág jr., a composer and researcher in digital music as well as his daughter Judit, a video artist, who has produced many videos, often with music by her father. We come as close to watching and experiencing the process of creation as a camera allows, attend rehearsals with Hillary Summers (Nell), Leigh Melrose (Clov) and Frode Olsen (Hamm). We also meet with Alexander Pereira, Director General of La Scala, who commissioned the opera, and Pierre Audi, the stage director. This documentary gives a first impression what the opera will be like which is scheduled to be premièred in 2018 at La Scala in Milan. Maryline Charrier´s intimate knowledge of the Kurtágs and long standing relationship with them makes this documentary also a piece for times to come. It is one of the first music documentaries to be partly financed by crowd funding with the help of KissKissBankBank. Poorhouse International is taking on the challenge to distribute worldwide.

Production year 2017
Director Maryline Charrier
Duration 56
Production Company Senso Films



VBW International

IMZ International Music + Media Centre

IMZ welcomes VBW International, who offer exclusive licenses of original musicals to leading stages all over the world.

Third year of livestreams from Rudolstadt Festival

Accentus Music

For the third year in a row, Accentus Music is producing the live streams on Arte Concert of this year’s top acts at the Rudolstadt Festival.

IMZ Academy: Re-Imagining Orchestra for the Digital Age

IMZ International Music + Media Centre

We are thrilled to announce that our IMZ Academy “Re-Imagining Orchestra in the Digital Age”, taking place from 21-22 August 2017 at the Barbican Centre in London, is already fully booked.



Bach specialist Sir András Schiff returns to the BBC Proms in a Piano recital performing Bach’s The Well-Tempered Clavier (Part I)


Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.