Tchaikovsky Cycle – Nelsons & Gewandhausorchester

Author: Accentus Music

In December, Accentus will continue its Tchaikovsky cycle with Andris Nelsons and the Gewandhausorchester with the filming of the Symphony No. 4.

  • Andris Nelsons, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig | Copyright: © Accentus Music, Gert Mothes

    Andris Nelsons, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig © Accentus Music, Gert Mothes

At first glance, Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 follows the classical pattern: four movements, the first long, with a sustained introduction before the lively, sonata-shaped main section, the other movements shorter and clearer. At second glance, however, the Fourth turns out to be a soul drama – the first in the series of Tchaikovsky's last three great symphonies. The classical form stands in the way of the musical character of confession – as social norms stand in the way of the self-realisation of the individual. Only in his Sixth and Last Symphony “Pathétique” did Tchaikovsky reject classical norms and achieved congruence between his personal need for expression and its musical form.

With this concert, Accentus Music continues the Tchaikovsky cycle with Andris Nelsons and the Gewandhausorchester and completes the “triad” of the “great symphonies” Nos. 4-6.
Orchestra and conductor are joined by star trumpeter Håkan Hardenberger who plays Mieczysław Weinberg‘s Trumpet Concerto, which Shostakovich described as a symphony for trumpet and orchestra.

Mieczysław Weinberg
Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra B-flat major, op. 94

Pyotr I. Tchaikovsky
Symphony No. 4 F minor, op. 36

Håkan Hardenberger, trumpet
Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
Andris Nelsons, conductor

December 18/19, 2019
Gewandhaus zu Leipzig

The concert will be streamed live on Arte Concert on December 19, 2019 at 8:00 pm.

Production Company Accentus Music GmbH
Coproduction Company MDR/Arte
TV Director Ute Feudel
Composer Pyotr I. Tchaikovsky
Composer Mieczysław Weinberg
Orchestra / Band Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
Conductor Andris Nelsons
Soloist Håkan Hardenberger
Executive Producer Paul Smaczny



Detailed Avant Première Screening Schedule online!

IMZ International Music + Media Centre

Who is screening and when? Get a comprehensive overview of more than 550 music + dance films productions that will be presented in the Avant Première Screenings 2020!

ICMA: all International Classical Music Awards Nominations

IMZ International Music + Media Centre

The Jury of the International Classical Music Awards (ICMA) has nominated 390 audio and video productions from 130 labels.

Ode to Joy - A Symphony for the World

sounding images

New DW and ZDF/arte documentary “Ode to Joy – A Symphony for the World” completed and soon to be premiered.

Last chance to submit for the Sunny Side of the Doc + IMZ Pitching Session!

IMZ International Music + Media Centre

The deadline has been extended to 12 December. Pitch your project to a jury of renowned experts and get valuable connections + direct feedback on the spot!


Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.