Author: Berlin Phil Media

The Berliner Philharmoniker together with their chief conductor designate Kirill Petrenko and pianist Yuja Wang live on 13 April 2018.

  • Kirill Petrenko | Copyright: © Monika Rittershaus

    Kirill Petrenko © Monika Rittershaus

  • Yuja Wang | Copyright: © Norbert Kniat

    Yuja Wang © Norbert Kniat

The concert of the Berliner Philharmoniker under the baton of their chief conductor designate Kirill Petrenko on 13 April at 19:30 (Berlin time) can be followed live in around 150 cinemas in Europe.

The soloist in this cinema concert is the celebrated pianist Yuja Wang in one of her showpieces, Sergei Prokofiev’s virtuoso Third Piano Concerto in C major op. 26. The programme also includes two both sonorous and exciting rarities of the orchestral repertoire. The concert opens with the Poème dansé La Péri by Paul Dukas – the creator of the tone poem The Sorcerer's Apprentice . The music of this work, commissioned for Sergei Diaghilev’s famous Ballets russes, is characterised by its exotic colouring and sophisticated play of orchestral timbres and gave the composer a tremendous success at its premiere. After the interval, the Fourth Symphony by the Austrian composer Franz Schmidt features grand, flowing symphonic music in the tradition of Anton Bruckner, culminating in a powerful funeral march.

The cinema broadcast begins at 19:30 on 13 April. In addition to the concert, the broadcast includes exclusive interviews and in-depth introductions to the works plus insights into the work of the Berliner Philharmoniker. A regularly updated list of all participating cinemas can be found at www.berlinerphilharmoniker. de/cinema where you can directly access ticket sales of the cinemas screening the concert.



DVD + Blu-Ray: Nijinsky - A Ballet by John Neumeier

C Major Entertainment

Nijinsky is the title of this “choreographic approach“ to a dance phenomenon that has been part of Neumeier‘s life ever since the beginning of his career.

DVD: Open your Ears - Wege zur Neuen Musik

Arthaus Musik

Unique contemporary documents with great composers of the post-war modernism opens up the world of New Music.

DVD: New Year's Eve Concert - 20-DVD BOX

EuroArts Music International

An absolute must-have for collectors and fans of the Berliner Philharmoniker’s celebrated New Year’s Eve Concert. 20 concerts between 1977 and 2015!

DVD: Leonard Bernstein - Reflections

EuroArts Music International

From Carnegie Hall, scenes of his debut, to the living room of his home and his private studio, "Reflections" explores Bernstein's colourful career.


Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.