Sergiu Celibidache–Firebrand & Philosopher–DVD Box

This exclusive 13 DVD edition features more than 20 hours of world-class music, and a hardcover book by Celibidache expert Jan Schmidt-Garre.

  • Box | Copyright: © EuroArts Music International

    Box © EuroArts Music International

Sergiu Celibidache is a phenomenon. He has been called a “musical giant”, a “magician” “a brilliant lion-tamer” and an enfant terrible of classical music. He was famous for refuting the commercial aspects of the music business, which makes his rare recordings even more valuable.

This edition gives a fascinating insight into the mechanics of rehearsing and performing and reveals Sergiu Celibidache’s special techniques of motivating the orchestra to obtain the effects he desires.
The edition includes recordings with the Münchner Philharmoniker, the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR and the Orchestra Sinfonica di Torino della RAI. and features star soloists: Daniel Barenboim, Mathias Hölle, Hans Kalafusz, Margaret Price, Doris Soffel, Hans Sotin and Peter Straka.

Original title Sergiu Celibidache–Firebrand & Philosopher–DVD Box
Genre Concert / Documentary
Production year 1969 – 2011
Video format NTSC 16:9 / NTSC 4:3
Audio format PCM Stereo
Composer Anton Bruckner, Antonín Dvořák Sergey Prokofiev, Richard Strauss
Orchestra / Band Münchner Philharmoniker, Berliner Philharmoniker, Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR, Orchestra Sinfonica di Torino della RAI
Soloist Daniel Barenboim, Mathias Hölle, Hans Kalafusz, Margaret Price, Doris Soffel, Hans Sotin, Peter Straka
Director Jan Schmidt-Garre, Norbert Busé, János Darvas, Klaus Lindemann



DVD + Blu-Ray: The Art of Ohad Naharin

Bel Air Media

Two of the most emblematic works of the Batsheva Dance Company's current repertoire, both filmed in Paris: "Naharin’s Virus" and "Last Work".

Live on takt1: Yuja Wang & The Vienna Symphony


Virtuoso soloist Yuja Wang takes on Robert Schumann’s Piano Concerto - followed by Shostakovich’s 10th Symphony with the Vienna Symphony.

Symphony N°8 in E-flat major - Gustav Mahler

Telmondis Distribution

The monumental Symphony of a Thousand by Gustav Mahler was described by the composer as "a present to an entire nation".

Wunderwelt Staatsoper

ORF – Österreichischer Rundfunk

On the occasion of the great 150th anniversary of the Wiener Staatsoper, Rolando Villazón guides the viewer through the famous Haus am Ring.


Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.