DVD + Blu-Ray:
Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra / Mariss Jansons

Author: Clasart Classic

Mariss Jansons and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra perform Strauss' Don Quixote starring Yo-Yo Ma and Dvorak's Symphony No. 8.

  • DVD + Blu-Ray: <br />Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra / Mariss Jansons | Copyright: © Clasart Classic

    © Clasart Classic

In cooperation with Concorde Home Entertainment and Belvedere, Clasart Classic releases a highlight concert with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Mariss Jansons on DVD/Blu-ray.

With its ten variations on a theme of knightly character, Richard Strauss’ tone poem “Don Quixote” not only depicts the adventures of Cervantes’ chivalrous hero, but also functions as a virtuoso display of glorious solo melodies embedded in stunning orchestral passages. In this performance, Yo-Yo Ma takes on the part of “Don Quixote”. From the moment he walks onto the stage, he exudes charisma that immediately confirms his truly exceptional status as one of the best cellists in the world. Joining “the Don” later is a viola solo that personifies the faithful Sancho Panza, played by Wen Xiao Zheng.

Antonín Dvorák’s Symphony No. 8 sparkles with exuberance and lightness. The music of the Bohemian composer immediately takes command of the stage, with its wealth of melodies enthralling fans of symphonic music for many years now. It is the moment of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, which was chosen by internationally renowned music critics as one of “the world’s greatest orchestras.” And it is the moment of triumph of the great conductor Mariss Jansons.



DVD: Elegance – The Art of Alexander Ekman | A Swan Lake

Arthaus Musik

The first full-length ballet from Alexander Ekman, who recreated the original version of Tchaikovskys Swan Lake premiered in 1877.

DVD + Blu-Ray: The Cleveland Orchestra performs Brahms' Requiem

Clasart Classic

As crowning point of the Brahms Cycle with The Cleveland Orchestra and Franz Welser-Möst, the composer’s great choral work was released on DVD/Blu-ray.

DVD: Elegance – The Art of Maya Plisetskaya

Arthaus Musik

Brilliant recordings of the most important milestones in the career of Maya Plisetskaya, choreographed by Roland Petit and Maurice Béjart.


Arthaus Musik

The unique tetralogy Der Ring des Nibelungen returns to the historic place of Weimar where Richard Wagner began composing the first part of this cycle.


Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.