Music for eternity - Bach's Brandenburg Concertos

Author: Accentus Music

Accentus Music has completed the new documentary by Andreas Morell that traces the origins and history of the concertos with flautist Ana de la Vega.

  • Ana de la Vega | Copyright: © Accentus Music

    Ana de la Vega © Accentus Music

  • Ana de la Vega & Michael Maul | Copyright: © Accentus Music

    Ana de la Vega & Michael Maul © Accentus Music

  • Ana de la Vega | Copyright: © Accentus Music

    Ana de la Vega © Accentus Music

Johann Sebastian Bach's Brandenburg Concertos are among the most brilliant music the Baroque period has to offer: each of the six concertos is a masterpiece, each a journey into its own musical universe. Like Vivaldi's "Four Seasons" they remain incredibly popular to this day, and yet we know surprisingly little about their creation.

Their name goes back to Bach's dedication to Margrave Christian Ludwig of Brandenburg, whom he had met during a visit to Berlin. The dedication copy bears the date of March 24, 1721, but the concertos were probably composed earlier. At the age of 32, Bach came to the court of Köthen as Kapellmeister. His employer, Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Köthen, provided an excellent orchestra with which Bach could realize his technically extremely demanding compositions.

The flautist Ana de la Vega is one of the dazzling personalities of a young generation of musicians. On the occasion of the 300th anniversary of the Brandenburg Concertos, she embarks on a journey into the history and musical characteristics of the works. Fascinated by Bach and his music, she searches for traces in Leipzig, Weimar, Köthen and Berlin: How did the concerts come about? What makes them so unique? And what is the truth of the claim that they were a secret application of Bach?

A documentary with Ana de la Vega, Alexander Sitkovetsky, Ramón Ortega Quero, Cyrus Allyar, Johannes Berger and the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra Heilbronn.

Production Company Accentus Music GmbH
Co-Production Company NDR
Assoc. Prod. Company Arte
Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Soloist Ana de la Vega
Director Andreas Morell


IMZ at Le FIFA - Festival International du film sur l'art

IMZ International Music + Media Centre

The IMZ attends the online edition of the Canadian Festival International du film sur l'art.

Struggle with the Devil

EuroArts Music International

The Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin “struggles with the devil”.

Mellizo Doble by Israel Galvan & Niño de Elche

Auditorium Films

A film whose image will magnify this moment of pure flamenco.

Fedora Digital Prize 2021: Discover the Nominees

IMZ International Music + Media Centre

Discover the 4 bold + innovative nominees for the FEDORA Digital Prize 2021, a collaboration between the IMZ and FEDORA Platform.


Benefit from exclusive insights + opportunties with a thematic variety of IMZ Mailings to choose from.

By clicking "SUBSCRIBE" you consent that your data can be processed by the IMZ International Music + Media Centre for the purposes of processing your inquiry.